what universal remotes work with firestick

What Universal Remotes Work with Firestick in 2021?

In Recommendations by Tim BrennanLeave a Comment

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more.

🗞️ News: While Logitech will no longer make new Harmony remotes, the company says it will support existing customers "as long as they continue to use them." Learn more.

In this article, I am going to go “all in” to help address the question “What universal remotes work with Firestick.”

A few of you have written to me to say that some of the other info out there about these remotes is, ahem, a bit lacking (if not downright inaccurate). And we can’t have that.

The best universal remotes that work with Firestick are:

  1. Premium Pick: Harmony Elite
  2. Best Value: Harmony Companion
  3. Budget Replacement: Amazon Voice Remote
  4. Best Harmony Alternative: Sofabaton U1
  5. Remote-Keyboard Combo: WeChip W2 Pro
  6. Best Mini Keyboard: Fosmon Mini
  7. Best Sidecar Remote: Sideclick

This Stick is On Fire

What Universal Remotes Work with FirestickAccording to a recent report by Grand View Research, the worldwide smart TV sticks market has surpassed 13.8 billion and is projected to continue to grow at a compound annual growth rate (CGR) of 8.2% through 2025.

Yes, you read that right, that read 13.8 billion. Wow, that is some BIG coin for such a little stick. LOL.

While it is hard to pin down how much of that market Amazon owns with Firestick, Amazon announced at the beginning of this year that its Fire TV platform surpassed 40 million users. For context, there are about 46 million people in Spain, 45 million people in Argentina, and 43 million in Ukraine.

So, it is more likely that Amazon is dominating this market big time. Firestick leads in the electronics category at Amazon.com and continues to be a top-seller for Amazon across its entire inventory of products.

If you arrived here, chances are you are the proud owner of a Firestick already so I won’t bore you with touting the benefits of ownership.

Instead, and more to the point, I’ll answer the question of what universal remotes work with Firestick.

I will include a few super-affordable budget options as well as the premium pick that I own already and love.  But first, I’ll lay out all of my picks in a convenient price comparison table so you can see all of my top choices side by side.

Sound like a plan?  Let’s get you a sweet remote for your Firestick.

📚 Related: How To Fix YouTube Not Working on Firestick

Best Universal Remotes for Firestick: My Top 3 Picks

The following table summarizes my top three pics for what universal remote works with Firestick:

Logitech Harmony Elite Remote Control, Hub and App
logitech Harmony Companion All In One Remote Control for Smart Home and Entertainment Devices (Black) (Renewed)
Alexa Voice Remote (2nd Gen) with power and volume controls – requires compatible Fire TV device
Logitech Harmony Elite Remote Control, Hub and App
logitech Harmony Companion All In One Remote Control for Smart Home and Entertainment Devices (Black) (Renewed)
Alexa Voice Remote (2nd Gen) with power and volume controls – requires compatible Fire TV device
Coolest Features
Color LCD touchscreen, One Button Activities
One button Activities
Alexa for voice control
Device Control
Control up to 15 devices
Controls up to 8 devices
Firestick only
Smart Home
Yes
Yes
Yes
Voice Assistants
Alexa, Google Assistant, Siri
Alexa, Google Assistant, Siri
Alexa via remote
Dimensions
7.56 x 2.13 x 1.14 inches, 12 ounces
10.2 x 5.5 x 3.6 inches, 12 ounces
38 mm x 142 mm x 16 mm, 43.4 g (without batteries)
Price
$419.99
Price not available
$29.99
Logitech Harmony Elite Remote Control, Hub and App
Logitech Harmony Elite Remote Control, Hub and App
Coolest Features
Color LCD touchscreen, One Button Activities
Device Control
Control up to 15 devices
Smart Home
Yes
Voice Assistants
Alexa, Google Assistant, Siri
Dimensions
7.56 x 2.13 x 1.14 inches, 12 ounces
Price
$419.99
logitech Harmony Companion All In One Remote Control for Smart Home and Entertainment Devices (Black) (Renewed)
logitech Harmony Companion All In One Remote Control for Smart Home and Entertainment Devices (Black) (Renewed)
Coolest Features
One button Activities
Device Control
Controls up to 8 devices
Smart Home
Yes
Voice Assistants
Alexa, Google Assistant, Siri
Dimensions
10.2 x 5.5 x 3.6 inches, 12 ounces
Price
Price not available
Alexa Voice Remote (2nd Gen) with power and volume controls – requires compatible Fire TV device
Alexa Voice Remote (2nd Gen) with power and volume controls – requires compatible Fire TV device
Coolest Features
Alexa for voice control
Device Control
Firestick only
Smart Home
Yes
Voice Assistants
Alexa via remote
Dimensions
38 mm x 142 mm x 16 mm, 43.4 g (without batteries)
Price
$29.99

Last update on 10/20/2021 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


1. Premium Pick: Harmony Elite

What Universal Remotes Work with Firestick

Harmony Elite is the top dog when it comes to Harmony remotes and remotes in general, at least on the consumer side. Its coolest feature is a color LCD screen that you can use to fire off activities like “Watch a Movie,”  “Listen to Music,” or “Date Night.”

While it is a bit tricky to set up, once you get there, things just work flawlessly. For example, your Watch a Movie activity could automatically turn on your TV, switch the input over to Firestick, switch on your soundbar, AV receiver, and surround sound system, and even dim your smart lights and change their color.

I own the Harmony Elite and I love it. It is not cheap but the biggest benefit is that you can get rid of all your other remotes including the Firestick one. And you can use it control pretty everything you own. This includes smart home devices as well as home theater equipment.  It even works with Alexa and Google for voice control. You can check the price at Amazon here or read my full Harmony Elite review here.

Pros

  • Cool color LCD screen will impress your friends
  • Activities let you turn on multiple devices at once
  • Customizable hard buttons
  • Tactile feedback – vibrates
  • All the buttons are backlit
  • Alex and Google Assistant for voice control
  • A refurbished option is often available (this is what I bought)

Video Review

Here is one of my favorite reviews of the Harmony Elite from Undecided with Matt Ferrell.

I hated those dang remote codes too, Matt!

Price

Logitech Harmony Elite
This is the best universal remote you can buy. Period. Beautiful color LCD touchscreen, haptic feedback, one-button activities, support for Alexa and Google, plus custom smartphone remote apps for the whole family. This is the one remote that rules them all.

Last update on 10/20/2021 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


2. Best Value: Harmony Companion

What Universal Remotes Work with Firestick

Next on my list of what universal remotes work with Firestick is Harmony Companion.

In a recent review that I wrote comparing Harmony Elite vs Harmony Companion, I dubbed the Companion as the “poor man’s Elite.”  This probably isn’t fair when it comes to Firestick for two reasons. First, it is also nowhere near as cheap as some of the other budget options on my list. Second, this is an all-around fantastic remote; it just doesn’t have Elite’s color LCD touchscreen or support as many devices.

What it does have it most of the same features of the Elite. This includes programmable buttons for the same type of activities I mentioned above. It will also control both smart home tech as well as your home entertainment devices (up to eight), including Firestick and pretty much every other streaming service out there.  It will also let you control your TV using your voice using Alexa and Google Assistant (as well Apple Homekit / Siri to a more limited degree).

Pros

  • Control Smart Home and Home theater
  • Consolidate up to eight remotes for home theater (smart devices are unlimited)
  • Activities give you full control over multiple devices as well as the sequence in which they are turned on
  • Alexa and Google Assistant for voice control
  • Controls devices behind cabinets
  • Smart home app turns smartphones and tablets into customizable remotes for the whole family

Video Review

This remote generally gets rave reviews from tech critics and customers alike. Here is one them from YouTuber Robb Sutton.

Price

Logitech Harmony Companion
Harmony Companion offers all of the same benefits of the Harmony Elite, sans the color LCD screen and it lets you consolidate eight remotes instead of 15.

Last update on 10/20/2021 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


3. Budget Replacement: Amazon Voice Remote

What Universal Remotes Work with FirestickNext on my list of what universal remotes work with Firestick is the Amazon Alexa remote.

Let me start off buying saying out of the gate that there are still multiple generations of this remote available on Amazon.  So, you want to make sure that you pick the version that is compatible with your Firestick.

The 2nd-Gen remotes is compatible with Fire TV Stick Lite, Fire TV Stick 2020 Release, Fire TV Stick (2nd Gen), Fire TV Stick 4K, Fire TV Cube (2nd Gen), Fire TV Cube (1st Gen), and Amazon Fire TV (3rd Gen, Pendant Design). Not compatible with Amazon Fire TV (1st and 2nd Gen), Fire TV Stick (1st Gen), or Amazon Fire TV Edition smart TVs.

It adds volumes for Power, Volume, and Mute, so this is definitely the way to go to avoid a lot of switching around between your other remotes. You can also use it for basic Alexa comments like checking the weather, playing music, checking sports scores, viewing live cam feeds and controlling some smart home devices.

Pros

  • Inexpensive
  • Suitable OEM replacement for existing Firestick remote
  • Supports the most popular Alexa commands
  • Voice search across Firestick for your favorite content (e.g., Alexa find Sci-fi movies)
  • 2 AAA batteries are included

Video Review

The Tech Chap does a bang-up job with demonstrating the Amazon Voice Remote in his review of Firestick:

Price

Alexa Voice Remote (2nd Gen) with power and volume controls – requires compatible Fire TV device
  • Compatible with Fire TV Stick Lite, Fire TV Stick 2020 Release, Fire TV Stick (2nd Gen), Fire TV Stick 4K, Fire TV Cube (2nd Gen), Fire TV Cube (1st Gen), and Amazon Fire TV (3rd Gen, Pendant Design)....
  • Now with power, volume, and mute buttons that let you control your TV, sound bar, and A/V receiver.
  • Just press and ask Alexa to easily find, launch, and control content.

Last update on 10/20/2021 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


4. Harmony Alternative: Sofabaton U1

What Universal Remotes Work with FirestickWhile you can’t go wrong with Harmony, there is a less-expensive new kid on the block that has its own fan base.  Sofabaton has been picking up steam as an LCD remote that touts many of the same features as Harmony in a bit more of a no-frills package.

The remote is easy to set up as it “learns” what it needs to do by pointing it at the remotes for your other devices. Some highlights include an OLED display with a flywheel that makes it easy to swap devices, motion activation which conserves battery life, and macro buttons to control multiple devices at once, similar to Harmony.

As far as what universal remotes work with Firestick goes, this is a decent budget option.

Pros

  • Less expensive than Harmony Hub based remotes
  • OLED display
  • The company claims compatibility with 500,000+ devices from 6000+ brands
  • One-button macros
  • One-year warranty
  • Raise to wake option

Video Review

Here’s an excellent YouTube review of the Sofabaton U1 from the good people over at OSReviews:

Price

Sale
Updated SofaBaton U1 Universal Remote with OLED Display and Smartphone APP, All in One Universal Remote Control for up to 15 Entertainment Devices, Compatible with Smart TVs/DVD/STB/Projector so on
  • ✅【U1 Universal Remote & Replaces 15 Other Remotes】Our unique remote control support 500,000+ devices from 6000+ brands, the database will update as new devices come out, you don't need to worry...
  • 📲【App One-Touch Set Up】SofaBaton customized smartphone APP, one-button settings, no need to enter complex code to pair. Simple control for the whole house only by one remote, ditch all your...
  • 📺【OLED Display & Motion-Activated Function】The bright color OLED screen directly displays the current status and convenient for switching different devices. The motion-activated feature can...

Last update on 10/20/2021 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


5. Remote-Keyboard Combo: WeChip W2

What Universal Remotes Work with FirestickOK, while this remote requires a hack in order to use it with Firestick, I just had to include it here. Let me start off with the hack. It requires an on-the-go (OTG) adapter cable [links to Amazon] in order to use it with Firestick. This is because you need to plug in a USB dongle in order to use the remote. You can pick up both of the remote and the adapter over at Amazon for a fraction of the cost of the Harmony remotes here.

There are two very cool things about this remote. The first is that it has simple-but-standard remote controls on one side and on the other is a full-fledge Qwerty-keyboard. This can be useful not just for searching content on your Firestick but also for navigating YouTube and other content.  The second cool thing is that it functions as an “air remote.” This means that you literally wave it around in the air like a wand and it does stuff. Very Harry Potter.

Pros

  • Remote, air remote, and keyboard in one
  • Long battery life, lasts weeks after a single recharge
  • Budget friendly
  • Great for elderly and kids
  • Anti-lost function triggers alarm when button is pressed on dongle

Video Review

Check out this video from Free Tech if you can handle a very bad joke and few cuss words.

Ding-dangle-doo you are good to go.

Price

WeChip W2 Pro Backlit Voice Remote 2.4G Wireless Smart TV Remote Control Wireless Keyboard for Android TV Box/PC/Projector/All-in-one PC(Not Work with Most Smart TV)
  • [Plug and play & Voice input] Just plug the USB receiver into the device you want to control and use it without any setup.Clicking the voice button and speaking into the microphone will automatically...
  • [Backlight keyboard] Frosted feel,texture made by laser technology,added a layer of rubber around the air remote to keep it in the grip of the hand without slipping off,and increased the size of the...
  • [Anti-lost alarm bells] When you don't remember where the remote was put, click the button on the USB receiver, and the built-in anti-loss alarm bell will be activated,by finding the source of the...

Last update on 10/20/2021 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


6. Fosmon Mini

What Universal Remotes Work with FirestickWhile this isn’t a “universal remote” per se, what it is, is a great little keyboard that will let you navigate around Firestick like a champ.

So, if you want a pure-play keyboard to navigate your Firestick, the Fosmon is a great and super affordable way to go. At least one YouTuber I know (AtReef) has called this product “life-changing.” I agree. I now have you two remotes on my coffee table. This remote keyboard and the Harmony Elite.  I used to have seven remotes to control my home theater setup.

I use my Fosmon Mini mostly for YouTube but it also works great for searches on other streaming services, including Firestick.

Pros

  • Fully functional mini keyboard and trackpad
  • Feels solid in hand
  • Great for a home theater PC
  • Can connect up to your PC as well as Firestick
  • Can navigate Firestick using trackpad and arrow keys

Video Review

Checkout this helpful demo video from my man Lew over at Unbox Therapy.

Price

Mini Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad for Smart TV Projector Compatible with Android iOS Windows
  • Seenda mini wireless bluetooth keyboard Innovative Unique design, works great for PC, iPad, Android Google TV Box, xBox One 360, PS4, Projector, HTPC, IPTV
  • Mini wireless keyboard with Built-in touchpad and Full QWERTY keyboard. Built-in rechargeable Lithium-ion battery and also auto sleep/wake mode.
  • Wireless keyboard makes texting accurate and easy, and user friendly for PS4 gamer. Portable and elegant with backlight, enjoy convenient typing and multi-touch navigation right from your couch. helps...

Last update on 10/20/2021 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


7. Sidecar Remote: Sideclick

What Universal Remotes Work with FirestickLast but not least on my list of what universal remotes work with Firestick is this innovative clip-on remote.

If you simply want to extend your existing Fire TV remote with some extra functionality, then the Sideclick Universal Remote attachment is worth a look. Setup is easy if you have the original remotes that you want to replace. If not, don’t buy this; there is no way to set it up without the existing remote. Really, the main thing this does is let you control a couple of other devices all from the same place.

If you are constantly fumbling around primarily with your TV remote, Firestick remote, and soundbar remote, this may be a good fit for you.

Pros

  • Inexpensive snap-in for existing Fire remotes
  • Extends functionality
  • Can control most TVs, Fire TV, soundbar, and Blu-ray from a single remote
  • Learns from an existing remote
  • Customizable buttons for your devices

Video Review

Here is a nice unboxing of the Sideclick remote from Neville’s Tech:

Price

Sale
Sideclick Remotes SC2-FT16K Universal Remote Attachment for Amazon Fire TV Streaming Player
  • Slim universal remote attachment for Amazon fire TV streaming player.Sideclick is compatible with IR remotes.
  • Control the basic functions of your tv, receiver, sound bar, blu ray and Amazon fire TV all-in-one
  • Easy to program using ir learning technology (learns from your existing device's remote)

Last update on 10/20/2021 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


What Universal Remotes Work with Firestick: Your Turn

So what do you think about my answer to the timeless question “what universal remotes work with Firestick?”

Do you plan to pick up one of these remotes to pair it with your Firestick?

Are you willing to eat the expense that comes with my picks for the Harmony remotes?  You can use them to control much more than Firestick. Is a built-in keyboard a major consideration for you?

Or maybe you simply want to replace your existing Firestick remote with the Alexa one?

Please leave me a comment below and let me know. I would love to hear from you.


Related Links

If you enjoyed reading about what universal remotes work with Firestick, you might also like these articles:

what universal remotes work with firestick

About the Author

best universal remotes for NetflixTim Brennan, Technical Writer & Blogger

Tim Brennan [a.k.a. "Tec Timmy"] is a senior technical writer with over 25 years of experience writing for companies and organizations in and around Greater Boston, including GE and MIT. In addition to actively writing about universal remotes, Tim is also a regular contributor over at oneSmartcrib.com, a smart home blog. Tim holds a BA in Journalism from Northeastern University. Brennan is a father to two sons, a Star Wars nut, and loves a good taco🌮. There is a strong chance he is developing a crush on Amazon Alexa. You can learn more about Tim here.

Leave a Comment